Trust Your Taste 037

White Gold Parm + Sleep Deprivation

Happy Sunday! Here’s something tasty, something true, and some musings on food in storytelling to ponder over your favorite Sunday Treat.

Something Tasty: A cheese pairing to try

White Gold Parmigiano Reggiano

Parmigiano Reggiano is probably the most heavily regulated cheese in the world- but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t have any variation!

I stumbled on White Gold Parmigiano Reggiano at Cheese Plate Brooklyn. If you’re in the area, grab some cheese and turkish delights or baklava and take a walk on the promenade- you will not be disappointed. All the cheese in that shop is flawless, and they have a gorgeous selection of pairing items.

Every producer belongs to the Consorzio del Formaggio Parmigiano Reggiano, and they have to follow a very specific set of rules to remain in that consortium. What sets La Traversetolese Creamery apart is a special locally produced flaxseed diet for their Frisona, Reggiana and Bruna cattle.

Something True: A truth about myself

Sleep Deprived Crazy Town

Me, the monster.. or Boo from “Monster’s Inc”

Here’s the truth.

I need a nap.

I am a person who needs A LOT of sleep. And if I’m stressed, I need even more.

I used to pride myself on pulling all-nighters, and constantly working, and getting a lot done and still having the best attitude in the morning.

I really did not understand people being in a bad mood just because they didn’t have a good night’s sleep.

WELP, I am no longer that person.

If I don’t get enough sleep for days and days, I become a crazed, over-emotional monster (see above). I’m already a pretty proudly emotional person, so me calling myself over-emotional should really tell you something.

Over-emotional as in there are too many emotions to process, and because my reserves are running low, I don’t have my normal tools available to process ANY of them.

I lose my cool, patience, and any sense of grace or nuance (towards myself mostly).

I get fussy, like a bratty Goldilocks that never found the right temperature of porridge, and never found the right bed to nap in. Even if I don’t show it, I feel it.

I cry all the time, I go non-verbal with quiet rage, and then…

I eat something, drink water, and get enough sleep, and then- oh! I’m enjoying my life again. Isn’t that wild?

It’s not something I particularly enjoy about myself, but I’m learning to get better about nighttime routines and setting boundaries in other parts of my life (mostly in the realm of over-committing) that allow for more time to rest.

Even in cheesemaking, after cutting the curds, you will often let them “rest” so they can “heal”.

If only we weren’t conditioned to feel guilty about resting 🤯

But that’s a post for another day, my friends. How much sleep do you realllly need? …and is that reality different from what you tell people? Or tell yourself?

Farm to Fable: How food shows up in storytelling 

Porridge in Goldilocks

Ah, yes. Goldilocks: the most annoying girl in all fairytales. She’s sleeping in your bed, and eating your food. Hearing this bedtime story is probably the first time most American’s learned the word “porridge”.

Fun fact: Oatmeal is only oats, but porridge can be any boiled grain, really.

Fun not-fact: I think how a person takes their oatmeal is very telling. And I’d love to know your thoughts.

So the lesson here is…don’t leave your porridge to cool? Don’t leave your door open to nosey children in the forest? Breaking and entering is cool? Can anyone tell me the moral of this story?

Until next time,

Anne-Marie

P.S. - Sunday Scaries

A terrifying AI image to help us all rest knowing AI bots could never replace a real human artist:

This week the prompt was “sleep-deprived Goldilocks who never found a comfy bed to nap in.”

This is B.S. I see no gold locks, and she seems very happy and well-rested. Probably because she clearly read about BED.