Trust Your Taste 038

French Raclette + Dad Wisdom

Happy Sunday! Here’s something tasty, something true, and some musings on food in storytelling to ponder over your favorite Sunday Treat.

Something Tasty: A cheese pairing to try

French Raclette

It’s a big day. It’s Father’s Day, and it’s the Tony Awards, so we’re talking about a fairly theatrical cheese: Raclette. Here are the stats:

Jura region, France ~ 2 months ~ Pasteurized Cow ~ Washed Rind (brine)

Raclette’s drama comes in it’s pungent aroma and it’s presentation. “Racler” in French means '“to scrape”, and it’s traditionally melted or heated and scraped over potatoes, cornichons, meats, etc.

If you want a decadent summer treat, up your grill game by melting it over a hot dog.

Something True: A truth about myself

Dad Wisdom

Ziplining in 2017 I think?? Yes, I did convince my entire family to do this.

Here’s the truth.

Last week I did a show I’ve been working on for months (it was awesome). My writing partner and I wrote and performed it, and the process involved a lot of looking at vulnerable parts of ourselves and finding the humor in it.

A few months ago, I was at the point in the creative process where you think everything is terrible, you are terrible, and everyone will hate you for trying to make something (in my experience this always comes before a big breakthrough that makes the thing great).

I had a conversation with my dad. He says I worry too much, which is true. But it’s pretty difficult for me to just stop worrying. And then he told me something that helped completely reframe my anxiety. He said:

“You are worried about uncertainty. All of life is uncertain. But the only reason to worry is if you don’t trust yourself. There is no reason to worry, because no matter what comes up you can trust that you will be able to deal with it, no matter what it is. You have dealt with, and overcome worse. Trust Yourself.”

I’m really grateful for this wisdom, and should probably write it down and put it above my desk because it can be easy to forget, and hard to believe. But it’s true.

So this Father’s Day, I pass this wisdom on to you. Trust Your Taste. Trust Yourself. You got this.

Farm to Fable: How food shows up in storytelling 

Hot Dog Buns in Father of the Bride

Father of the Bride, 1991

One of my favorite displays of relatable insanity is this clip of Steve Martin losing his mind over hot dog buns in a grocery store. To this day, hot dogs and buns are still sold in different amounts. Where is the justice?

Also I played basketball with my dad growing up, so for that and many other reasons, I can’t talk about any other part of this movie other than Martin Short’s accent without crying.

Until next time,

Anne-Marie

P.S. - Sunday Scaries

A terrifying AI image to help us all rest knowing AI bots could never replace a real human artist:

This week the prompt was “a broadway musical with a cheese ensemble and a hot dog ensemble.”

This looks more like weird cow-mice and cheese grater- lunch bags that came alive worshipping cheese?